Rainy week…

Last week was unseasonably warm and delightfully sunny….this week has been stark in contrast…rainy, cloudy, and cold. I know it all contributes to the nurturing of spring but it’s hard to contend with nonetheless. I’m prone to weather related migraines and seasonal mood effects so it’s made this week rough…that, and so far having worked 47 hours in 4 days.

My Mom said goodbye to a dear friend and incredible woman this week. Someone who touched more lives than she probably ever knew…such a bright light and strong spirit. We’ve both reflected on how leaving that kind of impact is the greatest legacy. and that those connections are the best gift life can offer. Oh and also that Cancer and other serious/terminal illnesses suck!!

It reminded me that the length of any one of our lives is not guaranteed and that we should not be afraid to live them fully. It helped give me the courage to share with those who know me about this blog experiment. Maybe it will still go nowhere or maybe it will. The truth is that one will never know if they never try.

Published by megclifton75

I was born and raised in Western NY. I’m college educated with a 20+ year career in Human Services/Mental Health. I currently work in Suicide Prevention/Crisis Intervention. I’m close to my family, love music, books, seeing new places, and being anywhere near water. I’m a deep thinker, have a big heart, and believe this world could use more kindness and common sense.

4 thoughts on “Rainy week…

  1. Megan you definitely have the gift. More than once, your words have given me goosebumps. I relate a lot to you, the independence, the force denial of needing yet our calling to help those in their darkest times of need. Thank you for letting us know you are writing this blog!

    Like

    1. Thank you Lisa. It is often far easier for those of us who are compelled to help take care of others to take good care of ourselves or accept help. It’s comforting to know that you can relate. Thank you also for the encouragement and support. It’s taken me awhile to gather the courage to give this a try.

      Like

  2. Love this.

    I’ve also come to the realisation, somewhat recently, that human connection is the most important thing in life.

    Be fearless! xx

    Like

    1. It is so true Michelle. At the end of our lives it will not about the things we’ve accomplished or acquired but about the memories we’ve made and the lives we’ve touched, the love we leave behind. I’m so grateful that in spite of the distance and the years that you and I have reconnected and kept in touch. You are a wonderful friend! Thank you for your encouragement and support! I will do my best to “be fearless” 🙂 Love you my friend!

      Like

Leave a comment